Skip to main content


The highest decision-making body of the university is the eleven-member council chaired by Ruth Oltjer.

The council is responsible for the university's economic activities and long-term development. Among its other duties, the council approves the university's statutes and adopts its strategic plan and budget. 

Five council members are nominated by the minister of education and research, five by the university senate and one by the Estonian Academy of Sciences.

Nominated by the minister of education and research:

Arto Aas
Managing Director of the Estonian Employers' Confederation 

Heidi Kakko
Chair of the Supervisory Board of UniTartu Ventures OÜ

Marja Makarow
Member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, President of Academia Europaea

Ants Nõmper
Managing Partner of the Ellex Raidla law firm

Ruth Oltjer
CEO of Chemi-Pharm AS

Elmer Sterken
Professor of Monetary Economics of the University of Groningen 


Nominated by the senate:

Jaan Eha
Professor of Cardiology, Academician

Birute Klaas-Lang
Professor of Estonian as Foreign Language

Mari Moora
Professor in Community Ecology

Martin Aleksander Noorkõiv
Doctoral student in Media and Communication

Urmas Varblane
Professor of International Business



Ruth Oltjer Foto Andres Tennus

Ruth Oltjer continues as Council Chair of the University of Tartu

#governance #international #research


The Europaeum is a network of eighteen universities in Europe established in 1992 at the University of Oxford on the initiative of Lord George Weide

#governance #international #research


The European University Association (EUA), which presently has 850 members from 47 different