The University of Tartu has joined several European cooperation networks to reinforce its international co-operation links and to increase its international visibility. University networks aim at promoting common interests and collaboration on different levels between its member institutions. Active participation in co-operation networks, such as The Guild and the Coimbra Group, has provided the University of Tartu with a solid opportunity to have an impact on the shaping of international research and higher education policies.


ENLIGHT is a network of nine European universities with the ambition of transforming higher education and empowering learners as globally engaged citizens. The network’s main focus is on promoting equitable quality of life, sustainability and global engagement through higher education.

The Guild

The Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities (The Guild) comprises 21 European research-intensive universities. The network aims at giving its member institutions a distinctive voice at the European level and it aims at contributing to solutions to societal challenges.


The Europaeum is a network of eighteen universities in Europe. It aims to promote movement of academic staff and students between its member institutions, with the main focus on the humanities and social sciences.

Coimbra grupp

The Coimbra Group (CG) is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Group is committed to creating academic and cultural ties in order to promote internationalisation and academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society.



The CELSA (Central Europe Leuven Strategic Alliance) network includes 10 member universities.

The Alliance aims to support collaborative initiatives between member university researchers in successfully writing grant applications.


The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a consortium of research-led European universities that has had a significant impact on research policy in Europe. It has become a valued advisor to the European Commission on various research topics and acts as the voice of European research-intensive universities on a wide range of topics related to EU research policy.



The EUA is the umbrella organisation of the European universities and their national Rectors’ Conferences. It promotes the development of a coherent European higher education and research area based on common values. The primary goal is reaching structural compatibility in European higher education through establishing universally accepted norms and standards.


The Utrecht Network brings together universities from across Europe, with a common mission to share best practice and enhance the internationalisation process for both students and staff. It is particularly committed to areas of activity such as student and staff mobility, summer schools, the internationalisation of curriculum, joint curricula and double/joint degrees.

Soome lipp

President of Finland Alexander Stubb to visit the University of Tartu

Enlighti kaasatuse konkurss

University of Tartu students welcome to apply for ENLIGHT Inclusion Award 2024

Peahoone Ukraina lippudega

European Commission highlighted University of Tartu’s project to help Ukraine