Study levels

There are three study levels at the University of Tartu: 

  • Bachelor’s studies, volume 180 EAP, official standard study period 3 years
  • Master’s studies, volume 120 EAP, official standard study period 2 years 
  • Doctoral studies, volume 240 EAP, official standard study period 4 years 
scheme of study levels


A bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree is awarded by the university to a person who has completed the curriculum at the corresponding academic level. An academic level is a qualification within the higher education system.

Curricula with exceptional levels:
  • The curriculum of Medicine, with a volume of 360 ECTS, official standard study period 6 years.
  • The Estonian curricula of Dentistry, Pharmacy and Primary School Teacher, with a volume of 300 ECTS, official standard study period 5 years.

Completion of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Primary School Teacher curricula corresponds to master's level and are conducted on the basis of integrated bachelor’s and master’s curricula.

Students who have completed Medicine or Dentistry may continue to doctoral programmes or enter residency training to receive a qualification of specialist doctor. Residency is a three- to five-year programme.

Students who have completed the curricula of Pharmacy or Primary School Teacher may continue to a doctoral programme.

 More detailed information on how teaching and study is managed at the University of Tartu is available in the Study Regulations document.


Study instructions main page

Jaan Vihalemm

Industrial doctoral student combines work and studies

Enlighti kaasatuse konkurss

University of Tartu students welcome to apply for ENLIGHT Inclusion Award 2024

Kadri Voorand

Musician Kadri Voorand to be the new Professor of Liberal Arts at the University of Tartu