Professor emeritus Jaak Kangilaski was granted the lifetime achievement award for culture

The government of Estonia decided to give the national lifetime achievement award for culture to Professor emeritus of the University of Tartu, art historian Jaak Kangilaski. The two other recipients of the lifetime achievement awards were architectural acoustics expert Linda Madalik and literary scholar Mati Sirkel.  

Art historian Jaak Kangilaski has been working in the field of art theory and history since 1963. He is the author of numerous art history books and articles, one of the most renowned art scholars of Estonia today, one of the most merited teachers of art historians and artists, and popularisers of art. He has written several art history textbooks and review articles, and made a major contribution by teaching art history to students at both universities and schools. Kangilaski has been the rector of the Estonian Academy of Arts and the vice rector of the University of Tartu. Jaak Kangilaski was nominated for the lifetime achievement award by the Estonian Centre for Contemporary Art, the Estonian Artists’ Association and the Estonian Society of Art Historians and Curators. 

The amount of the lifetime achievement award for culture is 64,000 euros. 


In the photo, Professor emeritus of the University of Tartu Jaak Kangilaski. Photo by Andres Tennus. 

Vabariigi Presidendi Kultuurirahastu preemiate laureaadid

Awards of the Cultural Foundation of the President of the Republic given to Hedvig Tamman and Liisa Rätsep

Akadeemik Andres Metspalu

Andres Metspalu elected member of Academia Europaea

Professor Ülo Mander

Ülo Mander was elected as member of the Academy of Sciences in global change