University of Tartu rector candidates’ public debate

On 4 April at 15:00, the rector candidates’ public debate is held in the university’s assembly hall. The moderators are the election commission chair Professor Raili Marling, and Renar Kihho, a student of the Faculty of Medicine. Everyone interested is welcome to watch the debate live on UTTV. Simultaneous interpretation into English is provided at the event.

The rector will be elected at the election meeting on 20 April for a term of five years by the electoral council. The list of electoral council members is approved as of 3 April. The meeting on 20 April will be only for members of the electoral council – members of the university council, senate, faculty councils and the student union, as well as professors whose workload at the university as a professor is at least 20 hours per week. Professors who are on unpaid leave on the election day, according to an agreement valid on 3 April, are not included in the list electoral council. Persons set up as candidates are not included in the list either.   

The elections are held onsite in the assembly hall; voting is by paper ballot only. The candidate who receives more than half of the votes of the electoral council is elected.    

Read more about rector elections on the university’s website

Tartu Ülikooli peahoone

Preparation of the university's new strategic plan begins

Mihkel Tammo

Mihkel Tammo to head the University of Tartu Centre for Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Professor Mart Loog

Professor Mart Loog was elected Director of the Institute of Bioengineering