Staff Mobility

Erasmus+ EU mobility enables mobility for academic and administrative staff within European Union and associated states: 

Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden, Serbia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey.

Academic departments of UT have signed bilateral agreements with more than 500 universities in Europe. Agreements state the exact field and level of study and the number of exchange students and teaching staff. Erasmus+ EU partnership is coordinated by the Erasmus Departmental Coordinators.

Erasmus+ partnerships can be found in the information system SoleMOVE.

Choose "Your home unit" and for more advance search: 

  • "Type of exchange": Teaching
  • "Exchange program": Erasmus+ Europe

Read more on Staff exchange from internal website:

Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility (ICM) funds short term staff mobility between EU and Non-EU countries based on bilateral agreements signed centrally with the universities which get funded by the 3-year Erasmus+ ICM project.

Read more information on Erasmus + ICM

Contact: Karoliina Vilimaa-Pennarun 
tel. +372 737 6164

UT organizes researcher exchange within the framework of international cooperation agreements with partner universities. Such cooperation involves all the university’s faculties and units.

UT faculty members have the opportunity to invite their colleagues from partner universities abroad to visit Tartu (up to 10 days) in order to implement joint projects and to establish new cooperation links. Some partner universities offer the counter visiting opportunities.

Read how to apply from the internal website.

Contact: Karoliina Vilimaa-Pennarun 
tel. +372 737 6164

The mobility grants are intended to support visits of researchers and academic staff of foreign institutions of higher education to the Estonian institutions of higher education (HEI) and research and development institutions. The mobility grant can be applied for research, scientific work, teaching, cooperation with colleagues etc.

Mobility grants are divided into:

  • short-term 1-9 days (45 eur day)
  • long-term 10 days – 10 months (660 eur month)


Submission window: StudyinEstonia. The grant is administered by the Education and Youth Board.

Contact at University of Tartu:
Karoliina Vilimaa-Pennarun
+372 737 6164

Contact at Education and Youth Board:
Liis Uulman
+372 626 8900

The Estonian Academy of Sciences fosters international mobility of researchers and aims at facilitating scientific networking. On the basis of bilateral agreements the EAS runs a scientific exchange programme, hosting on average 80 visiting researchers per year and nominating approximately the same number of Estonian scientists and scholars per year for study and conference visits abroad.

More info available on Estonian Academy of Sciences

Dora+ mobility scholarships
Kristjan Jaak Scholarships

The University of Tartu Grant Office gives more info about additional mobility support.

Researcher mobility support enables both Estonian and foreign researchers to carry out research in a new environment to exchange experience, expand their co-operation networks and obtain new skills.

All the possibilities available on Estonian Research Council.

Programme photoshoot 2022

University of Tartu's Info Session in Tbilisi

Tudengikonverents „Bridges in the Baltics" toimub 10. korda

International student conference focuses on the languages and cultures of the Baltic states

Lipud ülikooli ees

University of Tartu ranks in the top 20 percent in European university rankings