Andres Tennus

The University of Tartu celebrates the 104th anniversary of Estonia's national university

1 December marks 104 years from the opening of the Estonian-language University of Tartu. Traditional anniversary events will be held on that occasion. 

On 1 December at 12:00, the anniversary ceremony took place in the assembly hall. The university’s doctorates and honorary doctorates were conferred and the University of Tartu "Contribution to Estonian National Identity” award was presented. Watch the ceremony with simultaneous interpretation into English on UTTV.

On 1 December at 17:00 will be the traditional torchlight procession. Gathering is in front of the academic building at Vanemuise 46. At 19:30 takes place anniversary ball in Vanemuine Concert Hall.

To celebrate the university´s anniversary, the exhibition of wool blankets woven by the native textile students of the Viljandi Culture Academy is open from 27 November to 29 February in the lobby of the University of Tartu main building.

On 24 November at 16:00, the University of Tartu honorary decorations were presented in the university’s assembly hall. The live broadcast is available on UTTV.

On 28 November at 16:00, took place the presentation of Erki Tammiksaar's book on the university's history „Eestikeelse Tartu ülikooli esimene aastasada“ in the White Hall of the University of Tartu Museum (in Estonian).

Honorary doctors

At the senate session on 26 May 2023, the University of Tartu senate appointed four new honorary doctors:

    • Professor Rolf Harald Baayen from the University of Tübingen was granted a honorary doctorate in linguistics for his outstanding contribution to the development and teaching of quantitative linguistics methodology and long-standing collaboration with the linguists of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Tartu;
    • Professor Li Bennich-Björkman from Uppsala University was granted a honorary doctorate in political science for her outstanding achievements in political science in the study of Estonian society and for developing cooperation with the Johan Skytte Institute of Political Studies of the University of Tartu;
    • Professor José Alejandro Madrigal Fernández from the University of London was granted a honorary doctorate in medicine for his long-standing collaboration and significant contribution to the development of haematology and bone marrow transplantation at the University of Tartu;
    • Professor Alexei Kornyshev of Imperial College London was granted a honorary doctorate in science for his outstanding achievements in chemical physics, electrochemistry and high-efficiency energy technology, his long-standing collaboration with the University of Tartu’s scientists and in shaping the new generation of scientists.


    On 29 November at 15 will take place Rolf Harald Baayen's workshop „Writing research proposals for the European Research Council“ and on 30 November at 10 begins his workshop about modelling lexical processing.

    Rektor Toomas Asser kõnepuldis

    Rector: Estonia's notional centre must be shifted to north-eastern Estonia in the coming years

    Raamat "Eestikeelse Tartu ülikooli esimene aastasada"

    Book on the first 100 years of Estonian-speaking university

    Rankings and Surveys

    Rankings and surveys