Arenberg-Coimbra prize for Eramus students awarded to UT alumna Janeli Harjus

At the annual meeting of the Coimbra Group in Kraków, the Duke of Arenberg presented the Arenberg – Coimbra Group Prize for Erasmus students to alumna of the University of Tartu, Janeli Harjus. The selection committee unanimously nominated Harjus for the 2019 prize.

Janeli Harjus spent her five-month Erasmus exchange in Denmark at Aarhus University, which is a member of the Coimbra Group like the University of Tartu and 38 more universities. After her graduation in June 2018 from the University of Tartu, her thesis was awarded the best master’s thesis in her programme.

UT Head of International Protocol Sirje Üprus says it is a great recognition: “The prize will undoubtedly increase the visibility of the University of Tartu among the distinguished research universities of the Coimbra Group.”

According to the selection committee, Harjus has shown that the value of the Erasmus experience was essential for her future career. The committee finds that opportunities created by the European Higher Education Area allow students to develop their research interests and contribute to the dissemination of a culture of diversity, discussion and creativity.

The Arenberg – Coimbra Group Prize for Erasmus students is awarded annually to a master’s student of a Coimbra Group university, who, having previously undertaken an Erasmus exchange with another Coimbra Group university, has in the opinion of the selection committee best demonstrated the added value of that exchange to their master’s thesis. The prize is of the value of €5,000.

Further information: 
Janeli Harjus, UT alumna of Baltic Sea Region Studies and laureate of the Arenberg–Coimbra Group Prize for Erasmus students, 5373 9963,
Sirje Üprus, UT Head of International Protocol and the Coimbra Group representative at the UT, 737 5615, 509 7117, S

Sandra Sommer Press Officer Tel: +(372) 737 5681
Mob: +(372) 5307 7820